FEEL THE FORCE – VISUALIZING CREATION FROM DESIGN

I’m currently doing some industrial design sketching in a class I’m in so I definitely have it on my mind right now. Looking over the products displayed on this site, this chair caught my eye for a couple reasons. First of all, it’s made of wood, and really nice wood at that. Second of all, at first glance, I thought it was made of one piece of plywood. Looking at the other images (where I got the image above), you can tell that it is actually a couple of pieces of wood that have some very strategic bolts used for fastening. Though the idea that this chair could have been “ripped” from a sheet of plywood is implied by the design.

My perception of the creation of this chair was that some giant being grabbed the middle of the top edge of a piece of wood and just ripped an 18″ or so wide piece  cleanly down the middle. Bent the whole thing at its midpoint and positioned it in the current orientation. It was ripped in a way that makes it look as if it could be placed “up side down” and allow the user to sit a little higher up. I also like how the forces being put on the back of the chair are countered with the base which extends up to the central part. The way that your center of gravity is braced by its triangular standing points is amazing, mostly because I can feel what the chair is doing as I sit in it. (If I were to actually sit in it.)

One response to “FEEL THE FORCE – VISUALIZING CREATION FROM DESIGN

  1. Sweet chair. I am currently working on a design for a chair. Think “waiting room” meets “emperor penguin”. How’s that for a metaphor

Leave a Reply

