Berry Nice


SCOUTING TWITTER FOR INTERESTING COMPANIES TO VIEW CAN BE A LONG PROCESS. YOU HAVE TO FILTER THROUGH ALL THE CRAP AND FIND LARGE COMPANIES. SOMETIMES YOU MAY FIND A SMALL STARTUP THAT HAS A LOT GOING FOR IT IN THE BRANDING DEPARTMENT, BUT MOST OFTEN, IT IS THE LARGER ONES WHO WILL HAVE AWESOME WEBSITES AND PROVIDE AND EXPERIENCE BEYOND SALES.

TODAY, I SAW BURBERRY AND DECIDED TO CLICK. NOT BEING INTO THE FASHION SCENE, I HAD HEARD OF THEM BUT NEVER REALLY KNEW WHAT THEY WERE ABOUT. I WENT TO THEIR WEBSITE WHERE I WAS GREETED BY REALLY NICE PHOTOGRAPHY AND SOME PICTURES OF ACOUSTIC MUSICIANS. INSTANTLY I STARTED THINKING OF ACOUSTIC SONGS I’VE HEARD ON THE RADIO LATELY. I CLICK ON THIS LINK AND WAITED FOR THE PAGE TO LOAD. UPON THE MUSIC STARTING (WHICH WAS ACOUSTIC) I STARTED CLICKING ON THE PHOTOS TILED ON THE SCREEN. HALFWAY THROUGH THE SONG I REALIZED THAT I’M STILL CLICKING ON THESE PHOTOS. I’M VIEWING VERY EXPENSIVE FASHIONABLE COATS THAT I REALLY HAVE NO INTEREST IN. BUT DUE TO THE GREAT PHOTOGRAPHY AND ACOUSTIC MUSIC SETTING THAT WAS SET WHEN I FIRST ENTERED THE SITE, I WAS IN AN EXPERIENCE. NO LONGER WAS I VIEWING THE WEB PAGE AS A STORE PAGE TRYING TO SELL ME THEIR CLOTHS. I WAS ENJOYING MYSELF AND LIKE ANY GOOD EXPERIENCE, I DIDN’T WANT IT TO END.

SO IT JUST GOT ME THINKING, INSTEAD OF DESIGNING WEBSITES AROUND LAYOUT AND WORK, DESIGN AROUND FUNCTION. THE FUNCTION WHEN BUILDING A PAGE LIKE THIS WOULD BE TO PROVIDE AN EXPERIENCE. BUT WHAT KIND OF EXPERIENCE? I’M NOT SURE BUT DEFINITELY SOMETHING MORE THAN LOOKING FOR LINKS ON THE PAGE THAT MIGHT BE OF INTEREST. WHICH, MORE OFTEN THAN NOT, IS ALL YOU DO ON THE INTERNET.

Leave a Reply

