USING SPACE TO PRINT

Johnny Cash by Stephen Alcorn
NIGHT ONE OF PRINTMAKING WAS REALLY EXCITING. MOSTLY BECAUSE I SPENT A LOT OF TIME LOOKING AT ART THAT OTHER STUDENTS HAVE MADE OVER THE YEARS. ONE OF THE STUDENTS WAS A SEASONED VETERAN IN CARVING A PIECE OF LINOLEUM AND PRINTING THAT WAY. I SAW THE IMPORTANCE OF WHAT DIRECTION YOU CARVED THE LINES. MAKING HORIZONTAL CUTS VERSUS VERTICAL, HOW THAT CHANGES A PICTURE. I LIKE THE REPEATING PATTERN OF THE CUTS CLOSE TOGETHER IN THE SAME WAY AS I LIKE A GOOD JAPANESE INSPIRED TATTOO. I INSPIRE TO CREATE SOME ART THAT CAN BE DESCRIBED AS DANGEROUS AND EROTIC. I’LL POST IT HERE WHEN IT’S COMPLETE.

Leave a Reply

